News & Events


Odisha Journalists Union strongly condemned the bar baric attack on satiric weekly CHARLIE HEBDO of Paris,France.The attack is the act of Cowards,the Union said. This type of attack on Media to seal the Freedom of Expression will fail.They added.They expressed their support & condoled the bereaved family.

Recently, a social media journalist, was burnt alive by Uttar Pradesh cops. In facebook, Jagendra Singh had posted against Ram Murti Verma, a state minister in Uttar Pradesh and a powerful Samajwadi Party politician in Shahjahanpur.On 30th May, Jagendra Singh posted a series of facebook post accusing the minister for gang-raping a nursery worker with his henchmen. He also alleged that he minister has grabbed large tracts of land and high-level corruption.The following day police raided his house and burnt him alive in front of his son.On the death of scribe Jogendra Singh in Shahajahanpur few days back, all state office bearers of OJU met in the premises of the Union and demanded the resignation of the concerned minister,stringent and exmplary action against the culprit and demanded a solatium of Rs 50 lakhs to the kins of the deceased .In continuations of the Shahajahanpur barbaric act ,the govt of UP chosen to remain silent on the shameful attack on a TV reporter at Pilibhit of UP.We all members of OJU,strongly condemn the act of mafias supported by ruling party politicians.This formula of killing the democracy gradually will fail and watch dogs of the society will work with more vigour.This is the high time that the parliament of India should concede the long standing demand of the working journalist of the country and bring special laws to protect the scribes.We are also demanding a CBI probe in the matter.

Sri. Pravat Kumar Dash, State President of OJU has congratulated Sri. Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, the new Information & Public Relation Department of Govt. Of Odisha. Sri. Dash expected that the tenure of Sri. Nayak will ushrup a new era for the media persons in the State and all demands of the working Journalists of Odisha will be met. Sri. Dash assured all constructive supports to Mr. Nayak, Minister, I & PR.

Sri. Pravat Dash, State President Of Odisha Journalists Union condemned the attack on Media Persons in front of the house of M.K.Stalin, leader of DMK, at Tamil Nadu. Sri. Dash has urged the State Govt. to take stern action on the attacker and named it an attack on Indian Democracy.

Sri. Pravat Dash, State President Of Odisha Journalists Union has congratulated Sri. Naveen Pattnaik on his fourth term as Chief Minister of Odisha. He has urged the fulfill the promises made by his Govt. for the welfare of the Working Journalists of Odisha, before the General Elections. He has also requested the new C.M. to fulfill other demands of the scribes soon and implement the Majithia Wage Board recommendation, as a whole.

Sri. Abhiram Pradhan, E.C member of OJU from Ganjam District expired on 15.3.2013. He was suffering from Cancer for a long time. Governing members of Ganjam District hold a condolence meeting at Beguniapada, his village. Please pray for the departed soul.

OJU nominated to the Tripartite Comitee constituted,by Labour Deptt.,Govt of Odisha,to moniter the speedy implementation of recommendations of Majithia Wage Board, for Journalists.OJU welcomed the step of the State Govt.

OJU Membership strength crosses 1000 state president Pravat Dash, congratulated all members. Says, the continued support & effort of all members made it possible.


On 27th Aug’2012, a joint memorandum was given to Sri. Arun Kumar Sahoo, Hon’ble Minister Energy, I& PR, Govt of Odisha, in his office chamber at Odisha Secretariate, Bhubaneswar. The joint memorandum was given by Odisha Journalists Union and Orissa Union of Working Journalist, Bhubaneswar by their Presidents Sri Pravat Dash and Sri Rama Hari Mishra respectively, along with some representatives of both the Unions.The joint memorandum was based on the rightful demands of all working journalists of Odisha.

The various points of the demands are
  • Identification of working journalists of Odisha as soon as possible by the Govt.& quick publication of the list.
  • Insurance of all working journalists of Odisha by the State Govt. as per the list.
  • Enhancement of fixed deposit of Working Journalist Welfare Fund to 5 crore.
  • 5% of the advertisement amount,given to the News Papers is to be deducted & the same should be deposited in the Working Journalists Welfare Fund.
  • Immediate pension to the retired working journalists of Odisha on the line of pension given to eminent artists and sport persons by the State Govt., till a full fledged policy decision is made on the pension scheme to the retired journalists.
  • Re-constitution of Accreditation Committee and Pension Committee by the State Govt. as early as possible.
  • Enactment of a special bill on the protection of Working Journalists of Odisha immediately.
After a thorough discussion on the charter of demands the Hon’ble Minister promised to look into the demands seriously and take a decision as early as possible.

The election of Keonjhar District Unit of OJUwas held on 09/08/2014 (Kranti Diwas) at Ghata Gaon. Kendujhar. Almost all members from all blocks participated. After detail dleberation. the General Body unanimously elected Sri. Akhaya Pattnayak as President, Sri. Sanjib Nayak as General Secretary and Sri. Ramesh Sahu as Treasurer.

Among others Sri. Ranjan Tripathy was elected as Working President, Sri Dhananjaya Satpathy and Sri.Rajendra Mahakud as Vice President, Sri.Bhabani Mahapatra as Organising Secretary, Sri. Tapan Behera and Sri. Ajit Dash as Joint Secretary.

Sri. Pravat Dash, State President, presided over the meeting and was the State Observer.

Sri.PRABHAT KUMAR DASH,the State President of Odisha Journalists Union has been nominated to the PRESS COUNCIL OF INDIA as a member.The Gazette Notification of Government of India has been issued to this effect on 10th. October 2014. The Ministry of Information & Broadcasting,Govt of India also issued the Circular on the same day. Sri.Prabhat Dash has been nominated from the Working Journalists Quota of seven members from entire India.A retired Hon'ble Justice of Hon'ble Supreme Court of India becomes the Chairman of PCI.The Press Council of India is the Apex Body of all News Papers of India.PCI is a quasi judicial & Statutory Body.

Sri.Prabhat Dash is also the member of Odisha State Working Journalists Welfare Fund & Tripartite Committee to Monitor the implementation of Majithia Wage Board recommendations. Sri.Dash is presently working as the Special Correspondent of PRATIDIN,Odia Daily, published from Bhubaneswar,Odisha.

Welcome To Our Site!!!

Odisha Journalists Union is a non-profit organization in the capital city of Odisha; Bhubaneswar established with the objective to help and support the foundations of our public and encourage them by increasing their confidence in the system by creating awareness about the issues affecting him. Since 2010 Odisha Journalists Union has been working for the human rights, give assurance for safety, protection and liberty for all humans as a non-profit organisation.

President's Message

Welcome to Odisha Journalists Union, I Mr.Prabhat Kumar Dash, heartily welcome you to our Organisation.I wish to thank all those who have made journalism a sacred profession.Odisha Journalists Union is established in order to solve the issues and problems relating to readmore